Wayne State University

Aim Higher


Freshmen Parent Orientation

Transfer Parent Orientation



Description and Purpose

Parents and families play an integral role in the successful transition of their son and/or daughter to college. We want to make sure that parents and family are prepared for the upcoming changes in their students' life. The WSU Parent & Family Orientation program will help parents create realistic expectations and provide significant information.


We realize this step is an important step for parents and families and  that’s why it is important that parents and families attend parent orientation. Because this is the first step to a very big transition to independence, to facilitate this transition, parents and students will have two very different schedules during orientation. You will begin with your student(s) in a general session then parents and families will split up and attend a different orientation; you will meet up with your student(s) again at the end of the day.


Timeline for Orientation Information (you only need to attend one orientation the same day as your student)

8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Saturday, May 16

Saturday, May 30

Wednesday, June 3

Saturday, June 13

Friday, June 19

Wednesday, June 24

Wednesday, July 8

Saturday, July 25

Wednesday, August 5

Friday, August 21